A Glimpse of South America

south america area

South America is a continent located in the western hemisphere, comprising twelve countries. The continent is named after Amerigo Vespucci, an Italian explorer who was the first to recognize that South America and North America were separate continents. South America has a population of over 400 million people and a GDP of over $6 trillion.

The South American countries are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela. These countries are home to a wide variety of cultures and landscapes. From the glaciers of Patagonia to the rainforest of the Amazon to the peaks of the Andes, South America offers something for everyone.

South American countries and their unique attractions

A flock of seagulls standing next to a body of water

Argentina is known for its cattle ranches and wine country. It is also home to the Iguazu Falls, one of the most awe-inspiring spectacles in the world.

Argentina is known for its passionate culture and Tango dancing. The Argentinian flag features a white background with a blue and red symbol in the middle. The blue represents the sky and the rivers, while the red represents the bloodshed during the country’s war for independence. Argentinians speak Spanish and the country’s currency is the peso.

Bolivia has wildlife reserves and salt flats which are among the highest in the world. Ecuador has Galapagos Islands, an archipelago located 1000km from the mainland.

Bolivia is a landlocked country in the Andes Mountains. The Bolivian flag has three equal horizontal stripes – red, yellow, and green – with a coat of arms in the center. The red represents the bravery of the people, the yellow represents the country’s mineral wealth, and the green represents the fertility of the land. Bolivians speak Spanish and the country’s currency is the boliviano.

Brazil is located in South America and is the largest country in both South America and Latin America. The Brazilian flag has a green background with a yellow diamond in the center. The green represents the country’s forests, while the yellow represents its wealth in minerals. Brazilians speak Portuguese and the country’s currency is real.

Chile has national parks, beautiful coastal cities, and a tradition of friendliness.

Colombia is the second most biodiverse country in the world. It has everything from mountains to plains to rivers.

Ecuador has the Amazon, home to pink dolphins and monkeys.

Guyana is known for its rainforest, which covers 85% of the country.

Paraguay is bisected by rivers and has some of the best nature preserves in South America.

Peru is home to some of the oldest cities on earth, including Cuzco and Machu Picchu.

Suriname is often overlooked by tourists but offers great natural beauty. Uruguay has some of the highest city-dwellers in the entire continent while still maintaining a large amount of undeveloped land.

Venezuela is home to Angel Falls, the world’s tallest waterfall. It also has a rich culture and history.

Traveling in South American Countries!

A steam train is on the side of Machu Picchu

There’s so much to see and do in South America, from the unspoiled countryside to vibrant urban cities. If you’re looking to explore this amazing continent, here are some tips for traveling in South America:

1. Make sure you have a valid passport and visa if required.

2. Learn a few basics of Spanish before you go.

3. Get traveler’s checks for your trip; they’re safer than carrying cash, and they can be replaced if stolen or lost.

4. Bring small denominations of American dollars (ones, fives, and tens) to use as local currency in various countries.

5. If your passport gets lost or stolen, report it immediately to the nearest embassy or consulate.

6. Ask your tour operator about immunizations and other required shots for each country you’ll be visiting; they may also be able to make any necessary arrangements or recommendations for medical care.

7. Bring a supply of prescription drugs with you in their original containers; they must be clearly labeled in Latin.

8. Drink only bottled water, and avoid eating fruits and vegetables that cannot be peeled.

9. Wear sunscreen and a hat, and drink plenty of fluids to stay hydrated while traveling in South America.

10. Have a great trip!

In summary, the South American countries are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, and Paraguay. These nations comprise all that is South America. The people in these countries speak Spanish or Portuguese and their currencies vary from pesos to reais depending on the country. If you’re looking for a beautiful countryside experience with vibrant cities then look no further than South America!

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter